Council numbers confirmed at nine at next election


Nine councillors will be elected to Ashburton District Council at the local body elections in October instead of the current number of 12.
The decision by Local Government Commission was announced today.
The commission upheld the council’s proposal to reduce elected member numbers, as part of the council’s mandatory review of its representation
The decision will see voters elect five councillors to the Ashburton ward, and two each for the Eastern and Western wards, plus the mayor. This is three less councillors than the current arrangement.
The ward boundaries have been slightly amended to account for the changes in population/representation ratios. Lake Hood will now be included in the Ashburton ward: it was formerly part of the Eastern ward.
The review also see’s the Methven Community Board remain in place, with five representatives to be elected.Running sport mediaThe world is yours – Neue Sneaker, Apparel und mehr für Kids