Luxton to chair primary production select committee


Rangitata MP Jo Luxton will chair Parliament’s primary production select committee.

Select committees give people a chance to have their say on political issues of the day and the primary production committee considers matters relating to agriculture, biosecurity, racing, fisheries, productive forestry, lands and land information.

Other MPs on the committee are Steph Lewis and Anna Lorck (Labour), David Bennett and Ian McKelvie (National) and Mark Cameron (ACT).

Mrs Luxton said the committee’s work spanned the food and primary industries to support businesses, farmers and growers.

“I’m incredibly proud to have been selected as chairperson of the primary production select committee. In this role, I’ll work alongside farmers and growers here in Rangitata, and across New Zealand, to maximise the export value of our primary sector, create and secure jobs, and support New Zealand’s brand for a clean, healthy and productive future.’’

She said Government was committed to working alongside industry to take care of people and the environment, and generate greater returns for farmers and growers’ hard work, while positioning New Zealand as the world’s most sustainable provider of high-value food and primary products.

‘‘I’ve met with farmers and growers right across our electorate and I will continue to do that. They are hard-working, innovative, and constantly looking to improve their practices.

‘‘By growing our workforce, improving environmental outcomes and lifting our sights to growth through value rather than volume, the food and primary sector will be at the forefront of New Zealand’s export-led recovery.’’

Mrs Luxton will continue as a member of the Education and Workforce Select Committee.

 Adidas footwearAir Jordan 5 (V) Original – OG White / Black – Fire Red