Education scholarships awarded

CELEBRATING SUCCESS: The Advance Ashburton Community Foundation Scholarship winners.
- Advertisement -

Scholarships with a combined value of $103,000 were presented to 30 recipients from Mid Canterbury for study, training and personal development at the Advance Ashburton Community Foundation ceremony at the Ashburton Event Centre this week.

The premier scholarship of the evening, the Neil Sinclair Memorial Scholarship, was presented to Bachelor of Science Honours student, Jonty Small.

Jonty impressed the interview panel as an intelligent and driven person who has the potential to be an outstanding doctor in the future.

The late Neil Sinclair established Advance Ashburton Community Foundation in 2003 and was passionate about supporting the community.

A scholarship set up to honour Neil was presented at the ceremony by his wife, Jeanette, who was pleased to award the scholarship to Jonty as a very worthy recipient.

The Neil Sinclair Memorial Scholarship presented to Jonty Small by Neil’s wife, Jeanette Sinclair.

A new scholarship was awarded in 2024.

The inaugural Kate Syme Scholarship was awarded to Sifala Sigaga, a former Ashburton College student, who is beginning a Bachelor of Law and Bachelor of Arts at Canterbury University this year.

The following scholarships were also awarded:

Smyth Scholarship for any tertiary study, particularly for those financially or otherwise disadvantaged – Tia McCallum (Bachelor of Arts English, and Ma ¯ori & Indigenous Studies) and Brenda Kingsford (Master of Social and Community Work, applied).

Parsons Family Scholarship for tertiary study in agriculture, horticulture or aquaculture – Isla Miers (Bachelor of Veterinary Science) and Chloe Small (Bachelor of Forestry Science).

Ian Glassey Memorial Scholarship for environmental studies – Samantha Fitzgerald (Master of Science) and Emma-Louise Stagg (Master of Planning).

Colin and Alison Crampton Music and Arts Scholarship for students studying music and arts – Molly Harrison (Sole Music Academy Music Theory Course and Songwriting Course), and Simone Forster Lobato de Faria (Bachelor of Fine Arts).

Johnston Brothers Health Science Scholarship – Kate Flanagan (Bachelor of Midwifery) and Elise Heffernan (Bachelor of Health Science).

Dennis & Barbara Taylor Nursing Scholarship for students studying nursing – Megan Harrison (Bachelor of Nursing) and Grace Richan (Bachelor of Nursing) .

Cameron Family Scholarship for tertiary study in agriculture, horticulture or medicine – Leah Berquist (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery).

The inaugural Kate Syme Scholarship winner was Sifala Sigaga Afato. Sifala (second from right) with her mother Dawaris Safafa Afato (left), her aunty Cordelia Sagaga Ale (right) and scholarship donor Kate Syme.

Glass Family Scholarship for newcomers and young people who are unlikely to receive financial assistance to undertake tertiary study, particularly in agriculture – Nikkita Harmer (Postgraduate Diploma of Teaching and Learning).

Tinwald Club Scholarship for applicants who live, or their parent(s) live, in the Tinwald area – Jack Bull (apprentice electrician).

Rotary Club of Ashburton Plains Scholarship – Ella Smyth (Certificate in Nutritional Science and Oncology Aesthetics training).

Ashburton Jaycees Personal Development Scholarship – Isobel Brook, (Spirit of Adventure 10-day development voyage) and Kyla Clement (Circle of Security Parenting Facilitator training) .

Ashburton Jaycees Training Scholarship – Charlotte Mulder (Bachelor of Broadcasting Communications).

Ashburton Jaycees Industry Training Scholarship – Hamish Kerr (apprentice plumber, drainlayer and gasfitter), Oliver Davidson (apprentice plumber, drainlayer and gasfitter), Jack Gibbons (apprentice glazier) , Sophie Smith (Bachelor of Applied Hotel Management) and Jacob Swan (apprentice carpenter).

Ashburton UFS Health Science Scholarships for tertiary study in health science disciplines – Ella McSweeney (Bachelor of Musculoskeletal Health), Shania Stempa (Master of Science, Child and Family Psychology) and Millicent O’Connor (Bachelor of Speech and Language Pathology with Honours).

Frank Crampton Agricultural Scholarship for tertiary study in agriculture – Jonty King (Bachelor of Agricultural Science).

The Scholarships are highly sought after and had a high calibre of recipients.

The recipients were selected from 102 young people following a rigorous process which included a written application followed by a personal interview with Advance Ashburton trustees and relevant industry leaders, and referee endorsements.

As well as their continued excellence in studies or training, recipients have also demonstrated willingness to give back to their community through coaching, leadership or volunteer work.